Tuesday, June 30, 2009


The four of us are "vacationing" for a week, and more than once the thought has occurred to me, we need another family here to make this work. So, any takers? Here's what we're looking for:

1 boy, any age, to wake up at 5:30 with Rojo and squeal with glee. Must like to count water fountains, watch "Wheel of Fortune" and "i Carly," watch him "play" basketball, and repeat themselves many hundreds of times per hour.

1 teenage girl with whom Woohoo can argue. Girl must prefer the hours between noon and midnight, and like to live in squalor. Sense of humor required, as well as good self-esteem as Woohoo is one of those "I can eat anything I want and never gain a pound" type of girls.

1 husband to watch Fox News and endlessly discuss the intricacies of domestic affairs. Must know the unemployment rates of every state (both reported and actual). Must own a mountain bike and be able to keep up for 2-3 hour rugged rides.

1 wife that will do all the cooking (I will do all the shopping and cleaning). Must like to sit under the shady tree with a good book, looking up every now and then to share a good laugh and/or cry. Must walk at precisely my speed and laugh at all my jokes and never tire of my vents. Must enjoy a good Margarita promptly at 5:00.

12 comments:

drama mama said...

I can offer the wife part.

Um, I have a husband that can stare out a window for hours.

The 6 year old could probably keep up with Woo Hoo.

And Miss M? OH YEAH. I think she's got Rojo covered.

We'll be right over.

jesswilson said...

omg, i'm in

Anonymous said...

I have 3 boys that would happily wake up at 5:30 each morning! The youngest has found joy in learning to tie his shoes and swim with no floaties this week; I think counting drinking fountains would be right up his alley!
Strangely, I think I could hang with your teenage daughter and have a blast, but could also cook, cry and drink a margarita with you at five.
I'm not sure my husband would fit in, but we could leave him out?

Angie Ledbetter said...

You open to a wife swap vacation? (Newish dog always into devilment, Dad on the road working for 2 - 10 weeks--how's that for specifics?, have 17-, 18- & 19-y.o.s at home. Spend half week being a care giver to my mom.) Interested? *grin*

Deb Shucka said...

Good luck with that. :) Sending all of you lots of love.

Robin said...

We are so close to a match it is scary. Cooking? check. Basketball? check Biking? check
Teenage girl? No, but I have two boys who like to check out hot girls? Come to the Midwest.

Tanya @ TeenAutism said...

Let's see. Nigel and Rojo would be a given. Aidan loves to argue, and he's a month away from being a teen, so he'd work. I'll cook, read, laugh, cry, walk, listen, and drink. But unfortunately no takers on the husband part. I'll let you know as soon as my status changes!

Wanda said...

The only part I qualify for are the margaritas...5:00, 4:00, 6:00...whenever.

Have a great vacation!

Amber said...

We can do this, IF Woohoo could hang with the almost-five year old....She can also eat anything without gaining a pound. Let me know.

;)

kario said...

I'd offer us, but I can see you've already got that covered.

Hope you guys had a tremendous time and you were able to log lots of reading and margarita time for yourself!

Ask Me Anything said...

I've got a complete and total match. Why didn't you call? Even stm and Greggie could "hang" and do handyman projects. Leo is dying to spend time with Rojo and we know Soph can argue with the best of 'em.

Lori said...

Me! Me! We fit! We fit!

Stepson is 26, enjoys odd hours, quirky habits, and talking.

Daughter, 20, loves to gossip and bitch about people she simultaneously loves and admires. Shops, tells jokes, can dance the entire NSync "Bye Bye Bye" routine, and will watch Twilight twice in the same day. Cool with younger teens as she still has the Mall Gene intact.

Husband, 58, has theories up the wazoo on the economy (his dad was in the Treasury Department), foreign affairs (he was born in Stockholm, schooled in England, and lived in Sweden, Switzerland, England, Brazil...), politics, and science (he'd be a scientist). Loves to ride bikes and has stamina to peddle (pun intended).

Wife (me), 49, loves to cook vegetarian. Enjoys peace, a great book and a shady tree. Loves even more an evening margarita (rocks and salt, please), enjoys giving and receiving vents, tells real groaners, and loves to laugh at nearly anything.

Please respond ASAP for fun and frolic. :)