Saturday, January 03, 2009


The Dharma wheel, or Dharmachakra, is an ancient, and universally recognized symbol of Buddhism. The eight spokes represent the Eightfold Path, or THE MIDDLE WAY.

The circle/chakra shape symbolizes the perfection of the Dharma teaching.

The center of the circle, the "hub," represents the discipline required for a meditation practice.

The rim symbolizes mindfulness, which holds everything together.

Dharma is the teachings of Buddhism, meant to eliminate suffering through its elimination of ignorance (the cause of suffering).

I found a great website that offers free Dharma for whatever ails you!

Om Mani Padme Hum!


Angie Ledbetter said...

Can't wrap my pea brain around the "all suffering is due to ignorance" theory. But, whatever the cause, still good opportunities to "offer it up" and move forward. :)

Jamie said...

Something I never heard before - thanks!

Wanda said...

Have you read The Feeling Buddha by David Brazier? I find it much easier to groc than a lot of writings. The way he talks about suffering makes much more sense to me. Perhaps because we are both westerners.

She said...

Hmmm. I also got caught up on suffering being the result of ignorance. I can see it, but I've not heard it put that way before!

Deb Shucka said...

Cool! Nothing like a little elucidation to start the new year with. Thanks for sharing.